Tumbleweed, slowroll or Leap

Hi everyone. I have been an openSUSE user for 10 months now. I have always had TW installed but recently, after the release of the 6.7.x kernels I have definitively resorted to slowroll. As I’ve often mentioned, I have a particularly old laptop (but with an SSD) that has always done its job. In addition to the old laptop I have a NUC 12 PRO with Intel core i5 1240P with Windows 11 PRO and in virtualbox I have tried many vms, especially openSUSE TW. I recently re-enabled Leap 15.6 KDE which is running very well in vm. The only problem I have often encountered are many incompatibilities with various packages coming from packman. Now I would like to ask: considering that in the coming times I will have time problems more and more often, what can I use for work. In addition to 1 Windows PC, I have always had 2 devices as a redundancy reserve. Obviously you will have understood that I am not a computer scientist but an amateur. I don’t have the time or skills to delve into command line mode. In addition to the updating that I do strictly in the terminal, I always prefer the gui. The incident with the first 6.7.x kernels pushed me to abandon TW. Now I’m using it in vm but with longterm kernel and always with KDE. I don’t need a rolling release but I don’t appreciate too old distros either. The idea I had at the beginning of slowroll was mistakenly that it was a release that included packages already extensively tested in TW. But after the ISO 20240213 I realized that the only difference is much more subtle, marginal. What do you recommend? Thanks in advance to everyone who will give me their opinions/advice. Mauro

1 Like

I haven’t experienced any issues with 6.7.x kernels. No doubt a difference in our hardware. I also don’t rely on any Packman repos. I also can’t comment on experience with “ISO 20240213”.

I can comment on TW, which I’ve been running for years. All on bare metal desktops and laptops (i.e, not in a VM).