X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro drivers install problem

Hello guys,

I just finished installing opensuse 11.4 on my desktop machine and unfortunately I have a problem with my sound card. I have downloaded the drivers from creative and I’m trying to compile and install them when I receive and [Error 2].

make -C /lib/modules/2.6.37.6-0.7-desktop/build M=/home/sepo/Downloads/X-FI_Titanium_Fatal1ty_Driver/XFiDrv_Linux_Public_US_1.00
make: *** /lib/modules/2.6.37.6-0.7-desktop/build: No such file or directory.  Stop.
make: *** [all] Error 2

Part of the file that generates the error looks like this:

ctxfi-objs := xfi.o ctatc.o ctvmem.o ctpcm.o ctmixer.o ctresource.o ctsrc.o ctamixer.o ctdaio.o ctimap.o cthardware.o cthw20k2.o cthw20k1.o

obj-m += ctxfi.o

ifeq ($(DEBUG), y)
CFLAGS += -g -DDEBUG
endif

KERNELDIR 	?= /lib/modules/$(shell uname -r)/build
PWD		:= $(shell pwd)

all:
	$(MAKE) -C $(KERNELDIR) M=$(PWD)

I think it has something to do with the kernel directory but I’m kind of new to linux and I don’t really know how to fix this.

Does anyone have any idea what might be wrong and how can I fix it?

Best regards,
Sergiu

So I have the X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty installed and I did not need to compile any drivers. My only issue is that my nVIDIA video card also has a sound output. So, I must go to YaST / Hardware / Sound, make sure all sound devices are edited and installed and then using the Other button on the bottom right, set the Creative sound card as card zero, first and default. openSUSE 11.4 uses PulseAudio by default. The utilty called the Pulseaudio Volume Control (pavucontrol) can help select the proper output device on this card. pavucontrol is installed by default with GNOME, but not for KDE even thought it works fine with KDE, If you use KDE, go into YaST / Software / Software Management, search on pavucontrol and install the file if not already installed. Come back with any questions on this application if you have them.

Thank You,