wrong resolution

Hi

I have problem with resoltion ( @gnom desktop ).

In Yast → videocard & monitor is all right. There is correct resolution 1366x768 ( WXGA ). Also the videocard ( I don’t have really one, only chipset “Intel Mobile GM45” ) is correct recognized. But Monitor is’t recognized, and I don’t know which one I have ( It’s notebook from acer ).

Nevertheless if I go direct in monitor preferences ( at the bottom the monitor with a ruler symbol ) the resolution is set to 800x600 and I can only change to 640x480. the monitor is as 15" recognized ( I have 15.4", even a bit more broadly - 1366x768 ) and now I don’t know what to do.

All symbols, all programs, everything is huge! How is it possible to configure the correct one resolution?

I am no expert, but maybe I could give you some hints while real help is on the way (especially until it will get bright again in and from the USA).

I think mostly things like that (right resolution of a laptop monitor also with GNOME) are discussed in the subforum “Hardware”.

I guess during your installation the right graphic driver was not chosen or did not work and your system fell back to a really ancient one: both the resolutions your “Display Preferences” offered you are not only for low resolution but also for a 4:3 monitor not for the new cinema like 16:9 monitors.
Maybe you could try to understand this form user “oldcpu” article and try to define which driver is in use now:
openSUSE Graphic Card Practical Theory Guide for Users - openSUSE Forums

And maybe you could help the experts helping you if you post your version of openSUSE (11.2?) and the precise model of your laptop?
Did you check if your data was integer before the installation?

Good luck!
pistazienfresser