Wireless-less again:)

Hello to everyone!

I am terribly sorry for making the same stupid questions again, since I´m quite sure the answers are already somewhere around here, it´s just that I can´t find them.

Somehow I´ve managed to install Suse 11.0 (dual boot, writing this from WinXP), I have no experience whatsoever with Linux, I get spots when I read about this Yast-thingy and other non-windoze stuff… anyway, am not giving up and asking 4 help:)

Help! :slight_smile:

Here it comes: wireless connection in Windows works out of the box even with my Asus WL520g router, which itself works only when it wishes to. In Suse it doesn´t work but also I have no idea, where to start making it work. I do have a looong cable to physicaly connect computer with router, just don´t know what to do then.

So, where do I start, what do I do? :blush:

THANY YOU for any ideas:D

Hi, welcome to the forums! Do u use gnome or kde and what wireless card do u have on your laptop? Have u added any repositories yet?

Hi, thanx for your help:)

I use gnome. It says here: Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN, is that the wireless card??? I don´t even know what a repository is, so I think I haven´t added any:)

Alright then lets get started.

A repository is like a server that allows u to install and update programs from, there could be an update repo and there could be a repo for drivers and programs such as openoffice, etc.

Alright, first go to yast in gnome and click on software repositories.

Now there should be 3 of them listed there all ready, they r:

update
OSS
NON-OSS

enable them and set them to automatically refresh.

Now visit this page:

Additional YaST Package Repositories - openSUSE

add the repos for version 11.0 (I hope this is the one u r using)

I suggest the following

Packman
VLC Video Lan Client
If u have a Nvidia or ATI card then add theirs otherwise u can leave them.
MadWifi
Beryl,Compiz and XGL
Banshee
Gnome Community
Gnome Stable
Wine
Mozilla
openoffice.org Stable