Windows Guy Tries Open Suse 11

Quote:

“I’m a Windows Guy. I work on a Windows network for a living. I’ve been a network engineer for over a decade. It’s not that I’m opposed to Linux or OSX, I’m just more familiar with XP and Vista so I tend to use it for everything. Some of you might be laughing already, but I like Windows. It gets the job done for me and for millions of other people. It’s fairly easy to use, fairly easy to upgrade with new hard ware, there is a plethora of software and I can do all the things I want to do on it.”

Windows Guy Tries Open Suse 11 at 10 Minute Tech

> ‘Windows Guy Tries Open Suse 11 at 10 Minute Tech’
> (http://www.10minutetech.net/?p=3)

at first i thought it was just another stooge from Redmond wanting to
‘trash talk’ SUSE…may be but, i found several of his slams
justified…

though i left Windows[tm] in '95 for OS/2, then moved to Linux early
in this century, and to SUSE with 9.something and i agree it should
be easier to:

• get through the partitioner section of the install

• set up video (with any/all chip sets)

• break the law (and watch/listen to all media available)

• eject the CD/DVD every time

• see/mount/use ALL installed/connected drives

• VPN to work (more and more folks are)

personally, i wish the coders/hackers would put more effort into
those things EVEN at the expense of working less on the fluff and eye
candy…

DenverD (Linux Counter 282315) via NNTP, Thunderbird 2.0.0.14, KDE
3.5.7, SUSE Linux 10.3, 2.6.22.18-0.2-default #1 SMP i686 athlon

i vote for this:
>
> - get through the partitioner section of the install
>

cannot argue more.

auto-select disk is dangerous. There is a time that i got
bored, and reinstall my compie. and when go through installation
i click “Next”,“Next”, and “Next” and my h0m3 partition is gone!

bad SUSE, bad!

Nice writeup.