why no fork of OpenSUSE?

Let me say at the outset, neither I nor anyone else in my know has any intention of forking OpenSUSE (after all, I am a newbie!). With that out of the way, I have found OpenSUSE to be a very good distro- quite stable, predictable and repeatable in behaviour, and the administration tools are excellent, comparable to Mandriva.

So why no fork yet? Ubuntu has multiple flavours and forks, PCLOS is a fork of Mandriva, CentOS of RedHat, etc- all major distros, it seems, have been forked with the notable exception of OpenSUSE. Is this because of Novell-Microsoft relationship, a patent concern of some kind? Why has Yast not been ported to another distro?

The intent is not to troll, but a sincere one. I am thinking of dedicating some of my time to furthering the OSS and Linux cause by contributing to tools development down the line, and intend to start out things with a distro and stick to it for a while.

Also, any pointers to developer documentation ( especially, design documentation ) pertaining to Yast and admin tools in OpenSUSE would be much appreciated.

thanks,
a59

There are 2 other versions that I know of, 1 Educational Suse and JackLab Suse.

Hi
Plus openSUSE is a fork in itself from SLE…

Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 11.1 x86 Kernel 2.6.27.7-4-default
up 2 days 17:22, 1 user, load average: 0.51, 0.26, 0.18
GPU GeForce 6600 TE/6200 TE - Driver Version: 177.82

thx, BoloMarkIII, I was aware of only one of those, but still those aren’t among the mainstream distros ( although one could differ ).

Malcolm, but did not SLS project end a long time back, sometime in the 90s? Surely, Suse is not a young distribution and has evolved considerably from the early days, or did you mean to refer to Suse Linux Enterprise??

It surely isn’t. If anything it’s the other way around. But it’s not really forking, more branching.

openSUSE is the base of SUSE Linux Enterprise.