Which kernel is needed which one to remove?

Sorry if it is a dumb question (i’m coming from deb/ubuntu and i’m totally new to rpm - installed Smeegol on a Samsung N150). After some try&error i finally got my Broadcom4313 working but underway to that i got lots of new kernels and now i don’t understand not so much anymore.

me@linux-cgje:~> rpm -qa | grep kernel
kernel-default-2.6.34.7-0.5.1.i586
kernel-desktop-2.6.34.7-0.5.1.i586
kernel-default-devel-2.6.34.7-0.5.1.i586
kernel-pae-2.6.34.7-0.5.1.i586
kernel-firmware-20100617-2.2.noarch
kernel-desktop-devel-2.6.34.7-0.5.1.i586
kernel-source-2.6.34.7-0.5.1.noarch
kernel-pae-devel-2.6.34.7-0.5.1.i586
kernel-xen-devel-2.6.34.7-0.5.1.i586
kernel-devel-2.6.34.7-0.5.1.noarch
kernel-xen-2.6.34.7-0.5.1.i586

I think the kernel default-devel it was me installing it using the distribution manager to get working make (for trying to install the original Broadcom driver package; i stopped that attempt because i didn’t where exactly to move/cp the built driver). Then i found an instruction to a one-click installation of the broadcom driver utils by a Packman repository (it was a big installation procedure, i didn’t really understand why - but now i see . . . :wink: )

Ok, that’s it. Any suggestion is welcome . . . and thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Go into Yast and remove all kernel packages in the list above except the following

kernel-desktop-2.6.34.7-0.5.1.i586
kernel-firmware-20100617-2.2.noarch
kernel-source-2.6.34.7-0.5.1.noarch

Unless you have a special need the other flavors are not needed and will only complicate things.

Thanks.

But there is a problem: When i try to delete a kernel out of that you suggested to eliminate Yast , e.g. if i try to eliminate pae automatically activates pae-base (and the same in case of the others). Any idea?

An additional question: Shouldn’t i opt for default (since i’m on a netbook not a desktop)?