Which Distro?

Is it possible to do a quick run-down of the differences between openSUSE, Mandriva and Kubuntu?

I’m not new to Linux - I’ve been developing in it for 5 years now. I started with Fedora, then went to RHEL (which I hated) and we had a server with CentOS (which I hated equally). I currently use Fedora at work (mostly, we have CentOS and some other distros kicking around).

I have recently decided to migrate Linux to home use.

From what I can tell there isn’t much difference between these three distros when considering casual use. I’ll probably be doing a bit of C++ development - nothing fancy just working on my craft.

I’ve looked at screenshots of all 3 distros and I don’t think that does any justice to my problem. Functionally are there any huge differences?

How do you get new software? (i.e. Fedora uses yum, Kubuntu uses apt-get, etc.)
Are there packages that aren’t generally available for any of these distros?

Any personal preferences? Why do you have these preferences?

Thanks for helping me out. :slight_smile:

Under the hood openSUSE and I think Mandriva use rpm while Kubuntu uses deb packages; both openSUSE and Mandriva have dedicated control centres (YaST in openSUSE) to manage configuration and updates; both openSUSE and Mandriva allow you to create a separate administrator (‘root’) whereas Kubuntu relies on making the first user the administrator - the default openSUSE installation offers you the same opportunity but you can disable it if you prefer to have two different passwords; AFAIK you cannot do this in Kubuntu.

openSUSE only gives you a free installation; anything proprietary has to be downloaded separately though this is fairly straightforward. AFAIK both Mandriva and Kubuntu install some restricted codes automatically.