What's up with download.opensuse.org?

Trying to install 10.3 on one machine and 11 on another, I get endless time-outs and connection problems with download.opensuse.org. It makes updating or installing OpenSuse a real pain. Our internet connection is working fine and I have no problems otherwise. I have little experience with OpenSuse, but is this normal?

Cheers, Brian

No problem here,
you say - trying to install? Have you installed or not?

What hardware are you running. You say - No other problems - but do you mean with Suse on the internet browsing? or what?

> but is this normal?

it sounds like you opted for a network install…which means each
package is fetched as needed…well, the net is faster and slower
depending on time of day, users etc etc etc…

many (most?) folks find it much simpler (and quick) to download a DVD
image and then install from that…otherwise you ARE gonna suffer
from delays and speed-bumps on the Information Superhighway…

see caveat: http://tinyurl.com/6aagco
DenverD (Linux Counter 282315) via NNTP, Thunderbird 2.0.0.14, KDE
3.5.7, SUSE Linux 10.3, 2.6.22.18-0.2-default #1 SMP i686 athlon

Thanks for your reply.

On machine A I installed 10.3 from the DVD. No problems and everything works fine, but when I try an online update, every 3rd or 4th package downloaded from download.opensuse.org ends with a connection error or a time out. On machine B I tried a 11.0 net install from the DVD, but again nothing but connection problems. (Just download the full 11.0 DVD and going to try that one now.)

If I press Retry enough times, eventually everything gets downloaded, but well…

Could it be that based on my location download.opensuse.org redirects me to a specific server that has problems at the moment?

Like I said I have little experience with Suse/OpenSuse (enough with other distributions btw.), but to me this does not seem normal.

Cheers, Brian

@DenverD