Whats the story with this UEFI stuff?

there is a tl;dr at bottom

So that’s kind of the situation, 3 MB’s so far from asus and all of them seem to have a lot of issues with Linux. This latest board, the M5A99FX.

I don’t know if there is a copy paste disclaimer about being a guy that doesn’t know what hes talking about. I have a little below average, but not total newb status, to the wonderful world of learning how to do things the right way, aka Linux

My partitioning plan for all of this is to make a 1GB sda ext3 /boot and the rest of it was an LVM containing a 20GB ext4 / and ~200gb vfat non-mounted

Now, the first thing I did was put in the opensuse cd and tell the MB to boot to it without uefi, everything installed fine, and in fact it did the first boot no problem. When I take the cd out I get the same old OS not found business.

Next I told the MB to boot the cd in UEFI, which as I understand uses elilo rather than grub, I thought what the heck, why not. Everything installs fine, I took the CD out, installed updates, reboot several times and finally get around to installing the xen hypervisor. I reboot, it goes straight to the login screen, uhmmm, aren’t we forgetting something? like kernel selection. So I did a few google searches and tried to use some tool to make my own xen kernel be the default, that dead ended at the first error because nearest I could tell my init.d file WAS there, despite the message.