What cool things can I do with the btrfs file system?

I’ve never used btrfs before and now all my drives are using it. Are there any really cool things I can do with the file system? I’m not entirely sure I understand copy on write but I get the understanding it means more reliable file transfer? Furthermore I’ve heard that OpenSUSE takes snapshots of your computer when you install updates. Does that take up a lot of room? I have quite a few files on my computer and storage drives.

by Default only the system files are snapped. BTRFS uses snapper to maintain old images. But do not think of them as backups they are not they are images that let you set system things back in time ie revert. They do take a bit of space and you should allow a minimum of 40 gig for a normal root file system. Many prefer more. BTRFS has many option but be warned that some are still experimental :open_mouth: https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:BTRFS

Many directories are setup as sub-volumes.

Also by default home directory is set as a Sub-volume of root unless you change it. Personally I prefer to keep my data on a separate partition from system but the developers have seemed to have fallen lin love with BTRFS sup-volumes:P

Thank you for your reply. Ah, I see. Snapshots make more sense now.

I have a /home partition on a completely different drive to / because at the time I thought I might be playing the odd game here and there and wanted to keep things organised.

Sub-volumes does sound interesting. This is going to be a really stupid question but what is the point of a sub-volume? Why not do it the old fashioned way and just create directories? I don’t understand the benefits of sub-volumes and I feel I should.