Weird system power offs

Hi all. I’m a total Linux rookie so forgive me if i am asking dumb questions! :slight_smile:

I installed Suse 11.1 today (with the KDE gui i think its called - not gnome anyway!) and so far i think it seems great.

My main reason for installing was i was fed up with Vista and wanted a change. Everythign installed great and i then installed Wine and World of Warcraft (the main thing i use my pc for).

When i ran Wow via Wine I would get a total system power off after about 1 to 2 minutes so i spent an age trying lots of different changes one by one then relaunching it.

However, I was just on without running wine and my pc just shutoff in exactly the same way.

Is there anything I can look at here relating to this that may be the cause?

There’s no such thing as a “dumb question.” What’s “dumb” is refusing to ask. :slight_smile:

Is there anything I can look at here relating to this that may be the cause?

Three things:

1. What precisely is happening when it goes down? Do you get any warning? I assume you mean that it’s acting like you’ve held the power switch for several seconds.

2. Boot back into Windows and play around for awhile; see if it’s happening there. It’s possible that you have a new hardware problem that just decided to show up since you install Opensuse. (Not necessarily, but it’s worth checking.)

3. The system logs under Linux are one of the first places you should always look. Immediately after you have a powerdown event, note the time. Boot back up. From the K-menu, open Yast (“system configuration”) -> Miscellaneous -> System Logs and look at /var/log/messages around that time. Look for an event from “acpi” or something like that.