Want to install openSUSE 12.3 on a new Windows 8 PC, hangs at "Loading initial ramdisk" on DVD boot

Hi,

First off a warning, I am a complete novice at this - this is the first time ever I’ve tried myself to set up a dual/multiple boot machine, and to install Linux and in particular openSUSE.
I got myself a shinny new Compaq PC (CQ2940EA) yesterday. It’s 64-bit, Intel Pentium, Intel graphics card, nothing fancy, with Windows 8.
My goal was to set it up for dual boot with openSUSE 12.3 (keeping Windows 8).
I found a seemingly good TweakHound article to guide me, Dual-Boot openSUSE 12.3 And Windows » TweakHound, and got going. I downloaded the 64-bit ISO from software.opensuse.org: Download openSUSE 12.3, checked the MD5 hash value (all correct), burnt it to a DVD (4x speed), checked the DVD for its content (seemed ok), shrunk my C: drive’s partition, and rebooted my PC, to boot from the DVD drive.
I see the GRUB screen flash by (“Welcome to GRUB!”), then get an initial screen similar to what TweakHound captured, but only with “Installation”, “Rescue System”, and “Check Installation Media” available (no “Firmware Test” etc., no Boot Options or function keys choices visible). I select “Installation”.
I then see a nice wallpaper with a console-like window in the middle, which tells me:
“Loading kernel …” (a pause of a few seconds or so)
“Loading initial ramdisk …”
“_” (the cursor)

And that’s it. Nothing moves anymore. Nothing blinks on the screen. Even the keyboard’s lights are dead. The only thing that works is the power switch. Just to make sure, I waited for 2 and a half hours before powering off.

I’ve tried the other options available from the initial screen, e.g. “Check Installation Media”, but I get exactly the same result (not surprisingly, since according to the cfg file I think I found, all these options start by doing the same things).