Video codec problem

Hello,
I have problems with video codecs(mpeg4) in suse 11.0. I tried installing the codecs from Restricted Formats/11.0 - openSUSE-Community but both in KDE and Gnome it’s no use. I only hear the sound and have a black screen, no video. It’s the same thing in every player I tried (kaffeine, totem, mplayer).
Please help me!!!
btw i’m new to linux so please try to keep it as simple as possible:P

Given that you are new to openSUSE Linux, it might be worth your while brushing up on some basic openSUSE Linux concepts: openSUSE - concepts

Reference multimedia not playing (with the symptoms you describe), IMHO there could be various reasons:
a. it could be despite your best efforts to the contrary, you did not install the correct codecs, or
b. it could be you previous had setup Packman and videlan as repositories in your software package manager, and by following the one click install in the “restricted formats” URL you ended up with a mix of videlan and packman rpms, which may conflict with each other, or
c. it could be you have special desktop effects (ie “the cube” or “3D” ) setup, where video on openSUSE does not work well with those effects enabled, or
d. it could be that you have Intel Graphic hardware, where the driver for that hardware is known to have problems with some multimedia playback.

To know which of these applies to you, with your PC connected to the internet, can you copy and paste into a gnome-terminal or a konsole:zypper lr > zypper.txt && curl -F file=@zypper.txt nopaste.com/a
and post here the URL that will provide to you? That will tell us what repositories you have setup, to help determine if you may have a mix of videolan and packman repos and maybe we can recommend something after viewing that.

Could you also copy and paste into a gnome-terminal or a konsole:
rpm -qa | grep layer
rpm -q kaffeine
rpm -q libffmpeg0
rpm -q totem
rpm -qa | grep codec