Upgrade from 9.3

I’m somewhat new to Suse and currently have a machine running Suse Pro 9.3. I have a couple questions related to updates and versions.

1. What is the difference between Suse Professional and Open Suse? Or are they the same thing (just different versions)?

2. Is it possable to upgrade my current system to the latest version of OpenSuse without doing a complete new installation?

3. If an upgrade is possable, is it usualy a pretty smooth process? or is it involved and learning intensive?

Take care,
~Gray~

As SuSE Linux does not exist any more, this question can not be answered with yes or no.
If you don’t want to buy the enterprise version (SLED/SLES) you will “have to use” openSUSE.

No, the difference would be too big.

See above.

An important consideration is the age of your hardware. How old is it? Primarily the hard disk and system RAM sizes are important, and you may find your CPU specs are insufficient to run openSUSE 11.X properly. Graphics card specs may also influence your decision as to whether its worth it. For reference:

openSUSE 11.1: Hardware Requirements

Now, assuming your hardware is ok, then I would backup your important data in /home/<username>, and then perform a clean install.

Thanks for the quick response and helpful information. It looks like I’m ok with the system requirements other than the DVD drive.

I guess the question now is openSuse vs Enterprise. In addition to the 40GB drive for the OS, this machine currenly has a couple 200GB IDE drives configured as RAID I.

Can openSuse can support the software RAID configuration (similar to Suse 9.3). If so, than I think I’m good to go.

Take care,
~Gray~

I just did some hunting around and see that openSuse does support software RAID-1. I guess my question now is, are there any things I should consider when installing this configuration?

should we assume you know how to protect your data?

the best way to install openSUSE 11.x is with a md5sum checked DVD