Unable to Mount CD/DVD Drives

Hello -

I am a relative beginner to the linux community. I installed openSUSE 11.1 this past week and haven’t had any problems so far with installing and compiling packages and whatnot. But as of two nights ago, my onboard cd drive stopped working and I am getting a sort of dbus error and saying that its unable to mount the device. Its saying it’s a timeout issue…

Has anyone else had this issue?

Thanks in advance

Have you added your user(s) to the ‘disk’ group?

no i haven’t tried that yet. I’ll give that a go then. its confusing now tho because it was working before and all of a sudden it just won’t mount. I also tried adding a line to fstab to mount my external usb dvdrw drive but i can’t save my changes because i don’t have the right permissions even though im added to the root group…

you will want to take yourself out of the root group–the only member of the root group, should be the user “root”. The closest thing to an “administrator” group in linux would be the “wheel” group…

to do something that requires root privilages (like editing /etc/fstab), add sudo before the command you are trying to execute.

So if you wanted to edit /etc/fstab, the command would be

sudo vi /etc/fstab

it will prompt you for the root password (or your own, depending on how sudo is configured–by default, it will ask for the root password)
and then execute your command!

You don’t need to change anything in fstab as detecting and mounting non-permanent media is handled separately. Start by making sure that every user is in the ‘disk’ group. You don’t need to make any change other than that in the first instance.