Unable to establish a PPPoE connection

Hello!

This is my first time trying to use PPPoE on openSUSE. It is a fresh install of 13.1.

Scenario: I am connecting to a LAN, either using an ethernet cable directly or a wi-fi access point. Internet access for everyone on this LAN is provided via PPPoE.
I am usually using Windows and the connection works hassle-free, regardless of how I connect to the LAN (wired/wireless). I just have to enter the user name and the password when setting it up. Same thing on Ubuntu/Mint using pppoeconf, although it has been a while since I last tried.

Enter openSUSE: I still haven’t figured out how to connect using PPPoE. This is what i’ve tried:

1. Network Manager DSL: When connected to the network using wi-fi, It doesn’t event display the option to connect using PPPoE. Using a cable, it first disconnects my ethernet connection (why would it need to do this when i need the wired connection to dial PPPoE?) then a window pops up asking me for the secret, with the user name already filled out. I enter the password, the window goes away then comes back. This happens several times until the network manager gives up.

2. Yast DSL: I have created a provider. Now, how do I start the connection? I tried using QInternet, but all menu entries except ‘Exit’ and "Configure with Yast’ are grayed-out. Is there something I am missing here?

3. rp-pppoe: Always times out.

Can i try anything else? Is there a way to get pppoeconf in openSUSE?

Would any of these options have a better chance working if i set the network to use ifup instead of the Network Manager? Why?

How can I troubleshoot 1., 2., 3.? Are there any log files? Where can i find them?

Thanks!

On Thu, 03 Apr 2014 11:46:02 GMT, ccarapencea
<ccarapencea@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

>
>Hello!
>
>This is my first time trying to use PPPoE on openSUSE. It is a fresh
>install of 13.1.
>
>Scenario: I am connecting to a LAN, either using an ethernet cable