Two partitions starting at 1?

So I’m a noob and i’m trying to get 4 OSes on my system to multiboot. As of now i’ve got all four on the drive but can only boot to two. (XP and Suse) I was hoping when i installed Suse last, That it would pick up my other installs and put them in grub and it would boot them no problem. So much for that, Like i said - my ubuntu partition and my vista partition are unable to be booted from.

When i try to boot Ubuntu i get error 15, and when i try and boot vista, i get ntldr missing.

What’s really puzzling me is that there are two partitions starting at 1. sda1 and sda5

According to boot problem SOP here are my configs.

Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x227e5ff2

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System

/dev/sda1 1 3040 24418768+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda2 6552 37701 250212375 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3 37702 60800 185542717+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda4 * 3041 6551 28202107+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda5 1 2918 23438772 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 2919 3040 979933+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Fri Apr 3 21:16:31 CDT 2009

default 0
timeout 8
gfxmenu (hd0,3)/boot/message
##YaST - activate

###Don’t change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
title openSUSE 11.1
root (hd0,3)

kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD5000AACS-00G8B1_WD-WCAUF1579546-part4 resume=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD5000AACS-00G8B1_WD-WCAUF1579546-part6 splash=silent showopts
initrd /boot/initrd

###Don’t change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: Ubuntu 8.10, kernel 2.6.27-7-generic (/dev/sda5)###
title Ubuntu 8.10, kernel 2.6.27-7-generic (/dev/sda5)
root (hd0,4)
configfile /boot/grub/menu.lst

###Don’t change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows 1###
title windows 1
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
chainloader +1