Tumbleweed vs Factory

Hi!

I’m trying to use Tumbleweed repositories only, but recently the Virtualization repository for Tumbleweed (at http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/Virtualization/openSUSE_Tumbleweed/)was gone, and I changed to Factory (at http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/Virtualization/openSUSE_Factory/).

My question… is this kind of repository change (Tumbleweed to Factory) valid, reasonable, or am I goofing big time? Should I go for Factory only repositories? Wouldn’t that be somehow riskier?

Thanks!

Tumbleweed is a true rolling distribution, so packages from TW repos have been tested to work with each other (well, to some extent :wink: ).
AFAIK Factory repos have packages still in development and/or testing that might work or not, depending on many factors.
IF they work, they should be generally compatible with Tumbleweed, since that is their destination once all testing is cleared successfully.
Please note that I’m not a developer myself, so this is a layman understanding…

Very dangerous. Your mileage may vary.
However, you “maybe” can add the factory repo temporarily
and install the nicessary packages from there using yast2.
After you have install it you have the choice probably to lock those packages
you installed and disable the factory repositories.

I do it in leap and 13.2, I add the tumbleweed repositories because that’s where I get my newer kernel
and after installation of the new kernel I disable the tumbleweed repositories.

Thanks for the answer! I’ll roll on with the Factory repositories, but check in case the Tumbleweed ones reappear.

I’ve had problems in the past out of mixing different kinds, so I fully agree it could be a problem. I’ll keep the Factory repositories until the Tumbleweed reappear, then. Thanks for the answer!

Actually there is absolutely no difference, except for the name.

There is no such thing as “Tumbleweed” in OBS, there is only Factory which in itself is not available as repo at all.