Tumbleweed VirtualBox Permissions Perplexion

Hello there!

I am new to opensuse but a long time linux user. By no means an expert. Iam loving opensuse so far, but one thing has me completely stumped: VirtualBox. I am getting the dreaded “You are not a member of the ‘vboxusers’ group…” which is not true. I can’t figure out what is wrong…

paul@openSUSE-tw:~> sudo zypper install virtualbox
[sudo] password for root:
Retrieving repository ‘Main Repository (NON-OSS)’ metadata …[done]
Building repository ‘Main Repository (NON-OSS)’ cache …[done]
Retrieving repository ‘Main Repository (OSS)’ metadata …[done]
Building repository ‘Main Repository (OSS)’ cache …[done]
Loading repository data…
Reading installed packages…
Resolving package dependencies…

The following NEW package is going to be installed:
virtualbox

1 new package to install.
Overall download size: 38.9 MiB. Already cached: 0 B. After the operation,
additional 84.7 MiB will be used.
Continue? [y/n/v/…? shows all options] (y):
Retrieving: virtualbox-7.0.6-6.1.x86_64 (Main Repository (OSS))
(1/1), 38.9 MiB
Retrieving: virtualbox-7.0.6-6.1.x86_64.rpm …[done (9.1 MiB/s)]

Checking for file conflicts: …[done]
/usr/lib/virtualbox/VBoxNetNAT: setting to root:vboxusers 4750 (wrong permissions 0755)
/usr/lib/virtualbox/VBoxNetDHCP: setting to root:vboxusers 4750 (wrong permissions 0755)
/usr/lib/virtualbox/VBoxNetAdpCtl: setting to root:vboxusers 4750 (wrong permissions 0755)
/usr/lib/virtualbox/VBoxHeadless: setting to root:vboxusers 4750 (wrong permissions 0755)
(1/1) Installing: virtualbox-7.0.6-6.1.x86_64 …[done]
paul@openSUSE-tw:~> sudo useradd -G vboxusers paul
useradd: user ‘paul’ already exists
paul@openSUSE-tw:~> VirtualBox (((This command fails with the popup dialog about vboxusers group)))
paul@openSUSE-tw:~> chkstat --system
Checking permissions and ownerships - using the permissions files
/usr/share/permissions/permissions
/usr/share/permissions/permissions.easy
/etc/permissions.d/postfix