Total newbie needs help installing network printer

Can someone please point me in the direction of an idiots guide to printing via linux. I want to set up access to a network printer.

This page may help, with regards to openSUSE and/or Windows:Printer Sharing: Windows Print Server for Suse/openSUSE Linux Clients [Samba and LPD]

What type of network printer? Print server, shared, etc?

mm0

Its an Epson Laser printer with its own network interface (ethernet) I’m familiar with windows so I would describe it as using TCPIP. All I know is I am trying to use CUPS I have loaded the printer but get the message its busy (when it isn’t) when I try to print the test page. The printers ip address responds when I ping it in the konsole app.

OK, I don’t use CUPS that often, but going from memory:

1. create a new network printer. If it asks for it, I believe you will want to choose the ‘jet direct’ option.
  2. I’m not sure what this screen says, but look for the example that says ‘socket’, and that is the one I believe you will use…your entry should be something like 'socket://{IP OF PRINTER}:9100 (IE: socket://192.168.0.140:9100)
  3. finish up the wizard…

try that, and let me know if it works…if it doesn’t, it’ll have to wait until I get home tonight to look at the screens.

mm0

On Thu February 19 2009 04:46 pm, muzicman0 wrote:

>
> OK, I don’t use CUPS that often, but going from memory:
>
> 1) create a new network printer. If it asks for it, I believe you will
> want to choose the ‘jet direct’ option.
> 2) I’m not sure what this screen says, but look for the example that
> says ‘socket’, and that is the one I believe you will use…your entry
> should be something like 'socket://{IP OF PRINTER}:9100 (IE:
> socket://192.168.0.140:9100)
> 3) finish up the wizard…
>
> try that, and let me know if it works…if it doesn’t, it’ll have to
> wait until I get home tonight to look at the screens.
>
> mm0
>
magunn;

You might want to check the Open Printing site for your printer: