To install 11.1 ? Please add your thoughts

Please excuse me folks, for trying to think out loud or in public so to speak but…
I have:
1 SATA HDD 300Gb currently my only working OS, Windows XP, but with plenty of room, 140Gb of which is a dead or corrupted openSuse 11.0, no longer usable
1 ide/PATA 120 Gb containing a (redundant?) clone of my Windows install
1 ide/PATA CD/DVD RW Drive
On my mainboard six(!) SATA channels but only one PATA ide controller/channel
I have a PCI card with it’s own bios which offers 2 further SATA channels and one pata/ide.
No money (whatsoever!!!)
BUT.
I don’t know whether there is a problem with cables (I have tried two) or what, but I can only run ONE ide/PATA at a time per channel (ie no master/slave on either the on-board or on the PCI card)
The PCI card will not run the CD/DVD
The CD/DVD has developed a glitch (or more likely is full of gruff and dust etc) and now refuses to write.
I am a relative Linux noob, but have no fear of opening the bonnet/hood
I have a number of live CD’s so I COULD boot to a CLI or to openSuse DVD
I might be able to use someone else’s machine. He has a USB CD/DVD drive. I have limited Downloadabilty.
I have set HIS machine to run overnight D/L’ing the DVD openSuse 11.1
HIS machine has a similar sort of mainboard, ie loads of SATA ports, only one ide/pata port, both channels used.
I would like to install openSuse 11.1. I am reluctant, after recent experiences (see my other threads!) to re-partition the 300gb on-the fly, for fear of losing (access to) my XP install, so I think it would be for the best to install openSuse to my 120Gb. My brain hurts.

ANY suggestions welcome…
I am thinking,
Take 120G to mate’s house, lash it up as slave. Burn image of my XP setup to DVD, or leave image on his machine just in case.
Empty/re-partition 120Gb into free space
Burn the openSuse 11.1 to ISO DVD
Once back at my PC, put CD/DVD on ide/PATA
Put 120Gb on PCI Card
Remove 300Gb SATA (for safety)(!!!)