Thunderbird profile on network drive

Hi - Newbie here . . . I’m unable to “set” my Thunderbird email client profile(s) to my network drive. Defaults to /home/me/.thunderbird/filename.username. I’m able to initiate profile manager but . . . When I “choose folder” - I can browse to the location of my profile, smb://LANip/Public/Mailbox/Profiles/filename.username. But as I said, that path won’t “set” and profile manager defaults to home directory. Background - Windows user, but realized everything I need is easily available on Linux. (Firefox, LibreOffice, Thunderbird). Instead of updating Win7 to 10, I was able to install Leap without disturbing Win7 and just pick which OS to boot. Handy! So I want to use Linux but roadblocks occurring. Using Windows 7 or 10, I am able to access mail profiles on network drive from all devices on the LAN. Am I overlooking something? Help much appreciated. Gerry

The smb:// URLs are used by file manages like Dolphin to access network drives. But actually such drives are not really “mounted”, i.e. they do not have a plain filesystem path. You can browse to these drives, because a file manager component is used to display the folder selection menu. But finally Thunderbird is not able to use these URLs to access the files. Thunderbird needs a plain filesystem path.

So in order to use such a network drive you have to mount it to a filesystem path. Google for

mount -t cifs

to find more information about that.

How you would actually do that depends on whether you would want to mount the SMB share automatically during boot, or via a command. Some information is e.g. found at https://en.opensuse.org/Samba#How_to_use_the_client (however, please, please do not use sudo, use

su -

instead to switch to a root console and issue the command then as administrator).

Thank you “Let’s”. Give me some time and I’ll get back with my success story!

• Ghunk

Hi again: