t3500 dell workstation no sound

I have a t3500 workstation at work that has no sound output. This is an issue on all the t3500’s we have. I am fumbling through trying to figure it out but I am relatively new to suse and don’t know what to do next.

I bet this wouldn’t be a problem in the latest suse but I have to use suse 10.3 for the workstations development environment, so i cant update from there.

I did go through the guide Alsa-update but it didn’t fix the problem. Still no sound.

Doesn’t seem to be much out there about the t3500 dell so i am pretty stuck At the moment. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I would like to try help you , but I know nothing about your hardware. Please, can you thus provide the information that is recommended to be provided from the 2nd half of our multimedia stickie: Welcome to multimedia sub-area - openSUSE Forums

and I’ll quote that for you:

please post … providing in your post the following information:

• provide the URLs (of a summary webpage) that are created by running the diagnostic script noted here:
    SDB:AudioTroubleshooting - openSUSE - Script to run to obtain detailed information. On openSUSE-11.1 and newer that will ask you to run the script /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh and after the script finishes it will give you a URL to pass to the support personnel. Please post here the output URL. Just the URL. You may need to run that script twice (the first time with root permissions to update in the /usr/sbin directory, and the second time to get the URL).
  • in a terminal, or xterm, or konsole, type: rpm -qa ‘alsa#and post output here
  • in a terminal, or xterm, or konsole, type: rpm -qa ‘pulse#and post output here
  • in a terminal, or xterm, or konsole, type: rpm -q libasound2 #and post output here
  • in a terminal, or xterm, or konsole, type: uname -a #and post output here
  • for openSUSE-11.1 or earlier, in a terminal, or xterm, or konsole, type: cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound #and post output here