System won't boot with degraded Fake RAID 5

Hello,
I’m no expert with Linux so your patience is appreciated…

I have OpenSUSE 12.2 (headless, text mode only) installed on a Fake RAID 5 (4 drives). Last night one of the drives failed. From my past experiences with RAID arrays I assumed that if 1 drive fails the array keeps working and so does the OS. Not the case here though. First the OS started to behave strange (terminal freezes, virtual machines not responding and unable to DESTROY them). I rebooted the box but it no longer boots up. At this stage I assume my data is in tact and if I rebuild the array I’ll get the system to work again, but is there a RAID 5 configuration on OpenSUSE that works while degraded? I was reading about the software RAID and I’d even prefer that and use RAID 6, but after the installation the OS wouldn’t boot from it. OpenSUSE 12.3 would not install at all with any RAID - would not boot on software raid after install and would not install on my Fake RAID (apparently 2.7 TB is not enough for it, or at least that’s the error I was getting).

In terms of booting up now, it spits up a bunch of errors and hangs on “recovering journal” forever.

Any help appreciated.

esiu69 wrote:
> Hello,
> I’m no expert with Linux so your patience is appreciated…
>
> I have OpenSUSE 12.2 (headless, text mode only) installed on a Fake
> RAID 5 (4 drives). Last night one of the drives failed. From my past
> experiences with RAID arrays I assumed that if 1 drive fails the array
> keeps working and so does the OS.

Yes, that’s a fair assumption.

> Not the case here though. First the
> OS started to behave strange (terminal freezes, virtual machines not
> responding and unable to DESTROY them). I rebooted the box but it no
> longer boots up.

That makes it sound like there is some other problem. Possibly another
disk has failed or perhaps the problem is with the cables, controller or
motherboard instead. Or maybe it isn’t really a RAID5.