Switching back to ubunto

I am in short very frustrated with Open Suse due to lack of support. All I ever wanted was for someone to walk me through how to install the latest updates for an ATI video card on a laptop. I am a rookie to Linex but I wtruly want to learn it. The problem is getting advice is like pulling teeth or you have to be a Linex expert already. This is not the way to grow Linex. I need step by step instructions to install ATI drivers so my machine does not lock up and go to a white screen. Why can’t I get a nice person out there to help? I do not know even whe they say code what it means. Walk me through screen by screen. Lat but not leat is how do I find my threads on this forum? It is easy on Ubunto to do that.

Try this my friend ATI - openSUSE

right at the bottom it mentions white screen problem.

Post back should you have any problems, but I’ve not used ati for a long time.

If that doesn’t make much sense do this from the command line and post the url here that it gives you.

cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | curl -F ‘sprunge=<-’ http://sprunge.us

I ahve been to this page and the trouble is I do not understand what it is telling me. That is why I am asking someone to walk me through this. I have the version of card that the easy program does not work. On my desktop the easy program worked because I am using a nvidia card. I do appreciate you trying to help me though. I am a windows guy trying to learn linux. I am hoping to convert myself and be an open source person. I am fairly good at windows but a idiot at linux.

OK give me the what I said as above just copy and paste into the terminal/console, command line…

I can do this but I need the above command I need the URL with the output.

How do I find my threads on this forum?

Click on your user name it will take you to your profile page, or use your name by welcome.

When you see profile page click on the >> then statistics…