SUSE Linux on an HP Mini Netbook?

A few months ago, I got one of these and it is great for travel. I had to buy Norton for it and now the trial MS Office has expired which burns me. MS Windoze 7 Light is an adventure plus all the other bundled useless (to me) HP stuff.

I use SUSE Linux 11.2 on my main mail/internet desktop and I like it a lot so I have been thinking about swapping the hard drive out of the HP Mini and loading 11.2.

Has anybody done this? I’ve searched but haven’t turned up any threads about this. I’m a newbie so maybe I need to be pointed?

Maybe there is a more suitable Linux distribution but I only know SUSE and am ok with it.

My HP is a Mini 210-1000 if that is relevant.

Thanks.

I have gnome suse 11.3 running on an Eee, that would be very similar to your HP; it works fine

put whatever distro you wish on it!

You imply putting a new hard drive on your HP: if you mean that, many would suggest just installing a linux distro in addition; or on top of the existing OS;

I have copied an opensuse .iso to a USB stick by this method

SDB:Live USB stick - openSUSE

they now offer an easy way; I have used the “hard” way several times, and it goes fine

so using gtparted one could “shrink” the existing win7 and create a new partition for linux; or just let linux occupy the whole driver

Thank you. Good to hear you are running suse on a netbook.
Been there, done that, many times on desktop machines with dual and even triple boots but I think that the overhead of carrying around Win 7 and Linux probably won’t be worth it or necessary on a netbook. I wanted to have a larger disk in the Mini anyway, hence the disk swap. The new space would all be available for Linux.

thanks;

you seem very organised and well briefed; and know what you want to do;

there are various lightweight desktop options eg LXDE

LXDE - openSUSE

and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=(http://en.opensuse.org/Xfce)