SuSE 11.3 Installation : Monitor "out of range" problem

Hi,

I am installing SuSe 11.3, and during the initial boot after installation, I got “out of range” message on the monitor and nothing happens afterwards. I am a newbie.

My PC is dual CPU (intel), Video card is " nVidia N240GT" and the monitor is Gateway flat screen “FPD2485W”.

I tried both interfaces (gnome and KDE) and got the same problem (“out of range”).

How should I get over this problem?

Thanks in advance,

Dennis M.

I had the same problem with a nVidia 240 GT. Also, I found the sound support worked, but was spotty at best in reliability. I suggest you use the built-in motherboard sound, if that is an option. As for the video, try using a VGA only connection to your monitor and do not use DVI for the installation/setup phase only (install and after the first reboot, then the switch back to DVI or HDMI is OK). What you want to use is the VGA connection on the monitor and a VGA to DVI adapter on the video card is OK to use. The card I tried was from PNY and it included HDMI-VGA-DVI on the back. Once the nVidia driver is loaded as mentioned below, any monitor supported by this card will work with openSUSE.

I suggest it is best to add the kernel load option nomodeset, right off the bat during the install. I add it during the install phase, when you have an option to modify your boot order and other such things. If you look at the /boot/grub/menu.lst file you will notice the nomodeset command is present in the failsafe entry, so just duplicate that one command for normal startup. Once you get openSUSE installed, you are going to need to download and install the very latest nVidia proprietary binary driver, which is free. Here is a small writeup and as well as a web page I suggest you read before installing the nVidia driver:

SDB:Configuring graphics cards - openSUSE

Then, take a look at the procedure I use to install the nVidia driver as I install openSUSE 11.3: