Summer time?

How do I know if the system is adjusted for summer time?
I need something like

showsummertime

Summer time is adjusted by 1 hour since March 29th 2009

Or an application interface.

SusSE 10.3 and 11.1

Cheers,
Ake

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

Do you really need that exact sentence or just something showing what the
system is doing? If you run the ‘date’ command it shows something like
the following:

Wed Jun 10 13:26:17 MDT 2009

The ‘D’ means ‘Daylight Savings’ which typically happens during the summer.

Good luck.

akeblomberg wrote:
> How do I know if the system is adjusted for summer time?
> I need something like
>
> # showsummertime
> Summer time is adjusted by 1 hour since March 29th 2009
>
> Or an application interface.
>
> SusSE 10.3 and 11.1
>
> Cheers,
> Ake
>
>
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v2.0.9 (GNU/Linux)
Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org
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=kFo3
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

akeblomberg wrote:
> How do I know if the system is adjusted for summer time?
> I need something like
>
> # showsummertime
> Summer time is adjusted by 1 hour since March 29th 2009
>
> Or an application interface.
>
> SusSE 10.3 and 11.1
>
> Cheers,
> Ake

$zdump -v Europe/Amsterdam |grep 2009
Europe/Amsterdam Sun Mar 29 00:59:59 2009 UTC = Sun Mar 29 01:59:59 2009 CET isdst=0
Europe/Amsterdam Sun Mar 29 01:00:00 2009 UTC = Sun Mar 29 03:00:00 2009 CEST isdst=1
Europe/Amsterdam Sun Oct 25 00:59:59 2009 UTC = Sun Oct 25 02:59:59 2009 CEST isdst=1
Europe/Amsterdam Sun Oct 25 01:00:00 2009 UTC = Sun Oct 25 02:00:00 2009 CET isdst=0

Theo

LittleRedRooster wrote:
…]
Forgot to mention:
cd /usr/share/zoneinfo

> $zdump -v Europe/Amsterdam |grep 2009

Theo