Stuck on Boot...nothing after [OK] Started Locale Service

Hello all,
I’m a newbie and was trying to get my tensorflow library working in python…
During this i tried installing the nvidia graphics drivers and after a reboot the booting process just stuck at:

[OK] Started locale Service.

All the other things are OK until here except for the NFS server which earlier was also the same.
Need help as its important for me to start it up.

Thank you.

It’s possible at startup for X to fail to start and leave you looking at a screen that should have a login prompt but does not. A failed proprietary NVidia driver would be candidate to produce such failure. Can you Alt-F2 and find a login prompt? Does simply pressing <ENTER> produce a prompt? Or, is the computer actually frozen? Can you ssh into it from another device?

I tried booting it up in failsafe mode using nomodeset and somehow(as the screen is refreshing many times) logged in as root…

Update:I just installed the recommended installs by zypper which included nvidia drivers and nouveua (The screen flickering stopped). The gui showed up just with a pointer and had kdeinit5 failed to load message…I think the nvidia drivers are causing the issue?? any solutions??

If i try to run kdeinit5 using CLI i get something like:

kdeinit5:error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

How do I solve this???

kdeinit5 is not intended to be run directly from the cmdline. Did you try the original default video drivers first only to find them somehow flawed before installing the proprietary driver? There are two, nouveau (xf86-video-nouveau), and modesetting (integral to the Xorg server). If not, you should try uninstalling the NVidia drivers and rebooting. Note these two drivers require that the kernel cmdline not include “nomodeset”.

Other things to try for troubleshooting purposes only, logged in as root:

1: startx
2: WINDOWMANAGER=/usr/bin/startkde startx