Streaming video,music,and photos from OpenSuse 12.2 PC to Ipad

I would like to be able to stream videos, music ,and photos between my PC running OpenSuSe 12.2 and my Apple Ipad. Solution needs to be as simple as possible preferably operating through a GUI rather than command line. I have Googled for a solution and various suggestions have come up usually using a desktop program for the PC, and an Ipad app from the same source, which claim they will run with Linux but have not found a variant specific to OpenSuSe Linux. I am not technically competent enough to work with anything which will not work ‘straight out of the box’.
Has any one done this and can lead a feeble minded pensioner along the road to success!
Thanking you in anticipation,

merkland.

P.S.I should have said I have a private network with connection by ethernet (the PC) and WiFi (the Ipad).

Depends if Apple supports sftp://
That would be my plan if they did
But I’ll not by Apple on principle

On Wed, 16 Jan 2013 17:16:02 +0000, merkland wrote:

> I would like to be able to stream videos, music ,and photos between my
> PC running OpenSuSe 12.2 and my Apple Ipad.

I’m told xbmc is able to do this. I don’t have an iPad, so I don’t know
anything about setting it up, but that might be a good place to start.

Jim

Jim Henderson
openSUSE Forums Administrator
Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

Jim and cat4926,

Thanks for your helpful suggestions.
Apple does support SFTP so I am going to try Filezilla on my PC as there is a linked Ipad app, if this does not work then I will look at xbmc again.
Will let you know how I get on.

merkland.

Despite going through The Opensuse Documetation (Reference and Security sections) I think the only thing I have succeeded in doing is get myself totally confused. I have failed in getting either Filezilla or XBMC programs to communicate over my network. I think it obvious that I have not got my PC configured properly.