Starting services

I’m new to OpenSUSE, but I’m not so new to Linux. One of the things I’ve learned is that each distro has their own ways of doing things, but many also stay the same.

I just installed the LAMP server on my system then rebooted, expecting the daemons HTTPD, MYSQLD, FTPD, etc. to start. When they didn’t, I didn’t panic I just attempted to run “sudo service start httpd”. Surprise, suprise - “command not found” :o:O.

OK, Folks how do I start these daemons??

Open YaST and search “runlevel editor” or read “man chkconfig”.

I don’t have a “runlevel editor” on my YaST screen. I do, however, have “systemservices editor”. Not sure if that’s the same thing but it seems to be. I found the MYSQLD entry and ecnabled it but neither httpd nor ftpd showed up.

Just to add insult to injury, when I logon items on my task panel have disappeared. Including the network icon, the date/time and the windows selector and items I put there like firefox and thunderbird.

Another thing that happens, when I minimize something I’m working on it just disappears too. Rather aggravating when you want to go back to what your doing.

Thanks for your help. I didn’t realize how different SUSE is from the other distros I’ve used.

Jim

There certainly is an editor for services and runlevels, maybe name has changed slightly in 11.2, but it will be easy to find.

On CLI you can use chkconfig (or insserv) which is also used by other distros (RH/Fedora IIRC) read the manual page for chkconfig or insserv, then you don’t even need YaST.

As every other distro, openSUSE uses start/stop-scripts, there is no real difference.

• Quick & temporary: sudo /etc/init.d/apache2 start (or status or restart or stop)
  • Permanent by CLI: see Akoellh post
  • Permanent by GUI: Yast → System → System Services Runlevels → list where you can click enable/disable for default runlevel settings --or-- use “Expert” for non-default runlevel settings.

Swerdna - Thank You!!! :slight_smile: