Standby and Hibernate problems

Hi
Not sure if this the right forum ? Anyhow, after more than 9 months of trouble free use of standby and hibernation, my HP laptop using Opensuse 11.1 has suddenly stopped doing this. Most of the time, the system closes the GUI and goes to a text screen and then the GUI starts right up again. There are no obvious error messages - it just doesn’t work anymore.

I restored my system from a January 2010 backup. All was fine for a week and then it all started again. Just wondering if it could be an update causing the problem. I’ve also read comments regarding the size of the hibernation file - but doesn’t this auto extend as required ?
Any help gratefully received

Thanks

David

I am not an expert on Hibernate, but it really does work properly in openSUSE 11.2. However, Video drivers, some binary loaded files and surely an update could kill your system from being able to shutdown. I can say that on one of my computers, Hibernate works fine and I have the very latest openSUSE and KDE 4 files loaded. On another machine a driver used for a UPS, keeps it from shutting down. In your case, I wonder if a HP specific update might be the culprit as it sounds like you were doing fine until some update came down the pike. I might suggest either doing some manual downgrades, which is hard to do, or reload again, but put very few update sources into openSUSE, maybe staying with just the original four. Or you might add more, just only one at a time so you might determine what the problem might be.

Thank You,

billingd wrote:
> I restored my system from a January 2010 backup. All was fine for a
> week and then it all started again. Just wondering if it could be an
> update causing the problem.

you could try: again restore from the Jan 2010 backup and once done
turn off the YaST Online Updater (YOU) and do not manually update via
YaST…if it continues working (forever?) then you know it was an
update killing it…