Sound Blaster Audigy & SUSE 10.1

I am a newbie and have just installed this version of SUSE and everything went fine (i.e. all hardware was detected and drivers loaded) However when i try to play a file it seems as if it is playing but no sound. I have checked to make sure nothing is muted so it’s not that. I have also added my username to the audio group. I want to try to change the driver but dont know how. The one being used is for SoundBlaster Live not audigy. It is using snd-emu10k1
and i want to try snd-emu10k2. Do you think this would work and how do I do it?

Thanks,
Bill

Do you mean openSUSE-10.1 ? or SLED ? or SLES?

If openSUSE-10.1, I do not recommend you do not waste your time on it. All subsequent releases were significantly superior to 10.1, especially in areas of software package management.

You can download for free the latest openSUSE-11.1, which is significantly superior to openSUSE 10.1 in most ways. Software.openSUSE.org

Thanks for the reply. I am very new and I’ve installed many distros and this is the only one that seems to work. I can hear the speakers pop when I reboot so I know it is something simple but I cant find it.

One more thing…you said "All subsequent releases were significantly superior to 10.1, especially in areas of software package management. " Can you tell me how this could resolve my issue?

Please answer my question. Do have have openSUSE-10.1 ? or some 10.x version of SLED or SLES ?

openSUSE comes basically crippled for multimedia as packaged due to the fact openSUSE follows a free software philosophy (ie no proprietary codecs). To install non-crippled applications and codecs means one needs to install software. To install software means one needs a good software package manager. The one that came with openSUSE-10.1 was not very good.

So, are you using openSUSE-10.1 or SLED/SLES-10.x ?? There is a difference.

I’m sorry, yes it is opensuse 10.1 and thanks for helping