I just installed Tumbleweed using an ethernet connection because the installer wasn’t finding my wifi router. Once installed, wifi worked fine. However, now every time I select software update it tells me my network is offline, and the “last updated” time corresponds to when I was using ethernet. I assume it’s only looking for ethernet now, even though wifi is available. Does anyone know how I might fix this? I’m new to SUSE so it’s probably something obvious I’m not seeing. Thanks.

Just for now. Lets ignore the software updater

So just make sure you are online, wired or wireless and that you can browser web pages

Now open a Konsole terminal and become admin by doing:

su -

Now type:

zypper up

Does this fetch updates?

If you’re now using WiFi,
Have you switched over to using Network Manager (instead of Wicked)?

If you’re still using Wicked, it doesn’t remember multiple connection settings and you may really be offline, or there may be a bug that the installed Updater (which Desktop are you running? Is this the YAST updater or a Desktop applet like Apper?)
In any case, switch over to NM and your problem may be resolved.

TSU

Thanks for the replies.

@cafe4926 - Yes zypper works. Had too google what zypper was. Neat. I’ve got a lot to learn. So is zypper up the way the cool kids do updates? That seems very easy.

@tsu2 - I seem to be using Network Manager. Not sure where I access it directly, but when I select Network Settings in YaST it informs me that the settings are being handled by Network Manager. Is Connection Editor the same as Network Manager? That’s where I’ve been selecting my network.

Various Desktops use different tools to interface with NM now, particularly in LEAP and probably TW. Life was much simpler up to 13.2 when practically the same GUI tool was used in most Desktops. I’ve seen “Connection Editor” in Gnome-based Desktops which also includes LXDE and XFCE.