snd-hda-intel microphone not working

Hi there,

I recently installed opensuse 11.1 and am loving it… Only problem I seem to be having is with my sound. Microphone specifically.

It is two fold. When I boot, I get a pop-up in the top right corner saying “The audio playback device HDA ATI SB (AD198x Analog) does not work. Failing back to default”. Not sure what default is and why it doesn’t boot up with it automatically…

Now the default sound seems to work just fine (Skype, games, movies…), but there is absolutely no microphone… Internal Laptop mic or external. The laptop is a HP Compaq 6715b by the way.

I read on another post that you need to run “/usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh” so I did, but have no idea what to do with the output. The URL is http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=e9a525777a041b4d8a99dc18ca2055731b1034f2

Would someone be able to advise me what to do? Bare in mind that I am still a novice, so I may need to ask for instructions and “how-to” on the advice given.

Thanks.

Reference the diagnostic script, the idea is it provides summary information, that one can either use themself, or they can pass the URL to someone else, to get help. So thats what is to be done (initially) with the output.

Reference being a novice. We were all novice’s at one time. In fact, I still consider my self a novice in many many many areas of Linux. Still, to start, the VERY FIRST think I recommend you do is read this basic concepts wiki:
Concepts - openSUSE

Tjhe diagnostic script you ran provides some useful information. It tells us your openSUSE-11.1 install is a 64-bit install, and that it has been updated to the 2.6.27.21 kernel. It tells us the hardware audio codec on your HP Compaq 6715b is an AD1981. And it tells us your recognized alsa configuration is 1.0.17 for the alsa driver and 1.0.18 for the ututilies (library not known).

But that may not be enough information … more on that later.