sluggish and then freezes within 10" - KDE

I know this has been discussed already, but so far I have been unable to get a new install of LEAP 42.1 on a new PC in working order. I have been using openssuse since ages, at least for 20 years, the latest install was 13.1. but I am not really familiar with the inner workings of Linux, but here are my problems and the steps taken.

• PC with ASUS Z170-P motherboard, no graphics card, but the built-in graphics is (probably) nvidia; 2* identical new 2T hard disks

• First install of Windows 10 on sda on a 100G partition (GPT) on the PC I built from new components

• with SystemRescueCD sdb given a 1st partition in size equal to the total of W10 partitions (W10 created some extra partitions, including the EFI partition)

• with SystemRescueCD on both sda and sda I made a 500G GPT partion with RAID-1

• with SystemRescueCD I created a single Logical Volume group and created several logical volumes for the installation of LEAP

• Installation from DVD of LEAP, with 4 encrypted volumes (swap, var, tmp, home) and everything seemed to be working, both W10 and LEAP

• then I realised the sluggish behaviour and subsequent freezing in KDE. I tried:

• setting OpenGlIsUnsafe=true in ~/.config/kwinrc

• installing the nvidia drivers from nvidia with zypper

• using my old 13.1 .kde4 settings
    but nothing did resolve the problem.
    With freezing I mean that at the end I have to do a hard switch off, nothing else works, A running gkrellm is static.

Using iceWM there are no problems and it is actually very fast. I could probably live with iceWM, however it does not remember setting when logging off and I cannot configure a task bar as under KDE and both are show stoppers.