SLED 11 - Data recovery software

Hi guys! I am new to the Linux OS and I seem to understand nothing about it. Recently I sent my laptop for repair and my OS was changed from Windows 7 to SLED 11, which is the factory OS of my computer. All of my data was erased from the laptop (750 GB), so currently I am looking for a data recovery software.

Before anything, can anyone tell me if it is possible to recover any data, as an OS has been deleted and replaced with another one (I had 2 partitions on Win7 and they have been deleted)?

And if so, could you recommend me any software that I can use ON SLED 11 to recover my data or if I have an *.exe recovery software could I run it under Linux with a program called Wine? Would it do the work?

Please anyone who has any suggestions please say.

I will be very grateful if you help me recover my data.

These are the openSUSE forums, not the SLED/SLES forums. They are at: https://forums.suse.com/.

Hi and welcome to the forums! For future reference, the SUSE forums are located here.

It’s not very likely that the data survived since your hard drive would have been reformatted. Having made that disclaimer…if you still want to try, I would recommend running recovery software from a live disk such as Parted Magic–which has some excellent tools for managing partitions, recovery, etc.

More information can be found here along with a list of included software here.

Cheers, and good luck!

On 2013-08-07 18:36, iseikov wrote:
>
> Hi guys! I am new to the Linux OS and I seem to understand nothing about
> it. Recently I sent my laptop for repair and my OS was changed from
> Windows 7 to SLED 11, which is the factory OS of my computer. All of my
> data was erased from the laptop (750 GB), so currently I am looking for
> a data recovery software.

Good grief!

Did they not tell you that they would likely do that operation? Many
repair shops warn upfront that they will format and erase everything to