Setting up a network share

I have a server (192.168.1.200) which uses cifs. On windows it shows \Server\share1.

I need to know all the steps to getting my opensuse 11.3 box setup to see this share.

So following swerdna’s guide, i put the following line in fstab:

192.168.1.200/share1 /mnt/Documents cifs guest,_netdev,uid=client_user,gid=users 0 0

Does samba have to be setup ? In other words, do I have to add a share ? What would the entry look like?

Is there anything else that needs to be done?

Hi,

I am not an expert, but I am pretty sure that samba must be set up. Swerdna has an how-to on this if I recall.

Thanks Daax. I have been using swerdna’s howto, but I am not getting what I need. Being a network challenged person (I normally get a linux engineer to sort it out), I really want to learn how to set it up. I have got the network working and can get to files on an xp machine. Internet, mail and akregator are all working. That is why I gave details of the network places in my post.

In short You need samba-client package (I believe installed by default on openSUSE) to access a cifs server and You need samba package(not installed by default) to set up your linux as a cifs server. The later is harder IMHO but both are quite logical once You get the hang of them.

The easiest way for me to access a cifs file share is open up Konqueror and type smb://server/share in the address bar. After this You should get a prompt for domain\username and password if the share is password protected or it should just show the files if the file share is not password protected.

Another method of accessing a cifs file share is to mount it. This is done using the mount command for example to mount a share that resides on 192.168.1.200 that is accessible by user backup with password backup You would issue a command :

sudo mount -t cifs //192.168.1.200/sharename -o username=backup,password=backup /mnt/sharename