Setting OpenFOAM Environment Variables During Installation on OpenSuse 13.2

I am following the instructions to install OpenFOAM 2.3.1 on my Linux OpenSuse 13.2 system. At this following website, I am stuck at “Setting Environment Variables.”

http://www.openfoam.org/download/source.php

I sense that my struggle is elementary because I’m new to Linux and keep getting stuck on the simple things.

I am installing in my user Home directory:

/Home/Matt/OpenFOAM

Therein, I un-tarred/un-zipped the OpenFOAM and ThirdParty compressed files. With “zypper,” I installed the dependent packages listed at the above website for OpenSuse. I am now stuck trying to set the environment variables. Per the instructions, I opened bashrc in GEdit and appended the end of the file with the very final “source” line; the end of the file is as such:

cleanup environment:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

unset cleaned foamClean foamInstall foamOldDirs
unset _foamSource _foamEval

----------------------------------------------------------------- end-of-file

source $HOME/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-2.3.1/etc/bashrc
In the terminal window, I then issue:

source $HOME/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-2.3.1/etc/bashrc

and get a long repetitive string that looks like this:

mpicc: command not found

Can anybody tell me what I’m doing wrong? I’m new to Linux, so please provide answers in simple terms with clear explanation, since I’m trying to learn and get a better understanding.

Thanks,
M Ridzon

Update: I figured out how to set the environment variables after further digging. The installation instructions say to edit the final line of

.bashrc
(note the ‘.’ before filename)
with

source  $HOME/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-2.3.1/etc/bashrc

My error was because I didn’t realize .bashrc was a hidden file in the $HOME directory. Instead, I was incorrectly editing the final line of bashrc (without the preceding ‘.’) in the OpenFOAM directory:

$HOME/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-2.3.1/etc/bashrc