samba problem

Hi,

I have a samba share like in belows smb.conf mounted like

//192.168.0.2/media  /mnt/media           cifs       _netdev,users,auto,user=reg%107467    0 0

in fstab and when i create (or copy) a directory it gets permissions “drwxr-xr-x” - why don’t its permissions get set to “0777”? Isn’t that weird? What am I( missing? :eek:

my /etc/samba/smb.conf

[global]
workgroup = TUX-NET
printing = cups
printcap name = cups
printcap cache time = 750
cups options = raw
map to guest = Bad User
include = /etc/samba/dhcp.conf
logon path = \\%L\profiles\.msprofile
logon home = \\%L\%U\.9xprofile
logon drive = P:
usershare allow guests = Yes
add machine script = /usr/sbin/useradd *-c
Machine -d /var/lib/nobody -s /bin/false %m$
domain logons = No
domain master = No
security = user

[media]
    comment = Media Share
    path = /mnt/SafeFiles/media
    browseable = yes
    writeable = yes
    guest ok = yes
    create mask = 0777
    directory mask = 0777
    force create mode = 0777

...more shares...

Thanks for hints and suggestions
Ron:confused:

The Linux permissions on directory “media” are a constraint too. You convolve the permissions from smb.conf with those from the Linux side of things, and you end up with the more restrictive of the two sets. So try changing the directory “media” to the least restrictive, viz drwxrwxrwx, so it doesn’t interfere with what you want to set via smb.conf.

I believe you’re actually talking about /mnt and not /media, cause /mnt is where the things get mounted.
So anyways I ran a chmod -R 777 /mnt and when i create a direcoty in the media share, i stil end up with this:
drwxr-xr-x 2 nobody nobody 0 2008-08-09 07:26 AA
how can i make this being drwxrwxrwx automatically on creation?:confused:
Thanks!
Ron

There’s inconsistency between this statement of yours:

//192.168.0.2/media /mnt/media cifs …etc etc

and this statement:

… cause /mnt is where the things get mounted