Samba client OpenSuse 11.2

I have a samba server on my LAN. It can be accessed without any problems from Windows machines on the LAN without password.

I have two computers that I have updated to OpenSuse 11.2 (both used to run 10.3).

Since doing this upgrade I can no longer access the samba share from the Suse machines.

Basically, both Dolphin and Konqueror ask for a username and password to access “avoca” (the workgroup).

Is there a simple answer?

Thanks,

John

On Tue April 13 2010 04:06 pm, Avoca wrote:

>
> I have a samba server on my LAN. It can be accessed without any problems
> from Windows machines on the LAN without password.
>
> I have two computers that I have updated to OpenSuse 11.2 (both used to
> run 10.3.
>
> Since doing this upgrade I can no longer access the samba share from
> the Suse machines.
>
> Basically, both Dolphin and Konqueror ask for a username and password
> to access “avoca” (the workgroup).
>
> Is there a simple answer?
>
> Thanks,
>
> John
>
John;

This sounds a lot like the Samba 3.4.3 bug. See the sticky by Swerdna at the
top of this forum.
http://forums.opensuse.org/get-help-here/network-internet/436226-fixing-authorization-dialog-bug-samba-11-2-a.html
The solution is either to upgrade to Samba 3.5.2 or downgrade to 3.4.2 from
the distribution disk. (Note: 3.5.2 was released after Swerdna wrote the
sticky so following that thread will lead you to 3.5.2 rather than 3.5.1)

P. V.
“We’re all in this together, I’m pulling for you.” Red Green

@P.V. FYI I’ve now written the correct versions into the sticky

Updated the Samba client as per your instructions. That seems to have fixed it, almost.

I can now get to the workgroup, click on the server and then see the samba share. It’s called “backup” just as it should be.

If I click on this I get “The process for the smb://server_name protocol died unexpectedly”

Is this another bug in the samba client? Now running 3.5.2-1.1

BTW In addition to samba-client, I also upgraded: