SAMBA: Can mount windows shares, but they are read-only

Hey everyone!

I’m new to OpenSUSE! I’ve tested out a few distros and I really like this one. I am having one issue that I am really hoping I can get some help with.

I am using the mount command to mount Windows shared folders are another machine on my LAN, to have them show up in the Linux filesystem.

The command mounts the folders just fine, however the access is read-only. In the command, I am also using the -o option to specify a username and password that should have full access.

Also, I have used this identical command on my other distros and it seems to work fine. I’ve Googled high and low, trying to find a way to specify a Samba user/password for authentication. I know one of the other distros had a program that I could specify a Samba user/password to simulate a Windows login. I’ve also installed pam_smb, a suggestion I found on a thread that I found.

Anyway, I have tried many things, and Googled my brains out. Any help would be MUCH appreciated!

On Fri April 2 2010 12:06 am, travlemon wrote:

>
> Hey everyone!
>
> I’m new to OpenSUSE! I’ve tested out a few distros and I really like
> this one. I am having one issue that I am really hoping I can get some
> help with.
>
> I am using the mount command to mount Windows shared folders are
> another machine on my LAN, to have them show up in the Linux
> filesystem.
>
> The command mounts the folders just fine, however the access is
> read-only. In the command, I am also using the -o option to specify a
> username and password that should have full access.
>
> Also, I have used this identical command on my other distros and it
> seems to work fine. I’ve Googled high and low, trying to find a way to
> specify a Samba user/password for authentication. I know one of the
> other distros had a program that I could specify a Samba user/password
> to simulate a Windows login. I’ve also installed pam_smb, a suggestion I
> found on a thread that I found.
>