Ridiculously long boot time

First a disclaimer/clarification: I’m very very new to OpenSUSE (about 3 weeks) and relatively new to rolling-release distros (about 3 months), but I have some extensive experience with CentOS and Ubuntu.

Now to my issue:
Some weeks ago after a fresh install of Tumbleweed, I realized that the boot time is long (about 4 to 5 times longer than Arch. two weeks ago the boot time took more than 11 minutes and i have been suggested on Freenode’s #SUSE that I’m better off with btrfs, although with help of those kind people we narrowed down the boot time issue of that day to NTP connection that the OpenSUSE wants to make during the boot (to this day I don’t know why on earth you make the boot so much dependent on NTP synchronization!). Last week I format the whole computer, repartitioned again and installed a fresh Tumbleweed and I stuck to the suggestion of IRC people and only and only used zypper dup and YaST GUI for updating. Today I tried to turn on the computer and it took ages until it finally booted. The following is the output of systemd-analyze blame:

➜  ~  systemd-analyze blame
    9min 59.773s chrony-wait.service
    9min 53.629s plymouth-quit-wait.service
          7.854s backup-rpmdb.service
          6.422s NetworkManager-wait-online.service
          3.014s mandb.service
          2.020s logrotate.service
           777ms display-manager.service
           711ms smartd.service
           667ms udisks2.service
           551ms firewalld.service
           485ms apparmor.service
           310ms systemd-udevd.service
           309ms systemd-logind.service
           290ms initrd-switch-root.service
           269ms ModemManager.service
           262ms postfix.service
           244ms upower.service
           209ms systemd-journald.service
           160ms mcelog.service
           120ms user@1000.service
           108ms nscd.service