Repeated Updates from Packman libav

Hi, I seemed to be getting repeated updates of several libraries from packman. These libraries were dependencies for mplayer. I have temporarily solved the problem by removing the packman repo. Has anyone else seen this problem? Maybe there is something wrong with my system.

Very hard to tell without more specific details. Apper reports may updates but I suspect most are non essential or limited impact at worst. They can wait for housekeeping day. When I see a patch listed I run zypper patch. So far so good … and grateful thanks to all our diligent software maintainers. I’m no expert but I suspect it is best to NOT disable an essential repo like packman.

I was getting repeated attempts to connect to the repository, but the Austrian mirror was down and had been since the day before yesterday. I simply redirected to a different mirror, Index of /pub/linux/misc/packman/suse/openSUSE_Leap_42.1/
Problem solved, at least until this one starts acting up from the new traffic this post creates.

You don’t have to remove it. Just mark it as disabled (uncheck the “enabled” box in Yast Software Repositories).

Yesterday (and perhaps still today), “packman.inode.at” was down, causing problems for some folk. I just switched to a different packman mirror.

I’m not sure if that is the problem you are concerned with. Or maybe you just don’t like that packman updates so often.