Removing windows 7 keeping openSUSE 11.3

hey im brand new to the openSUSE scene and im loving it! I just got it all set up and it has everything I need for what i do on my computer and it does alot better and smoother. So now im convinced linux KDE is where the party is at! HAaha so I want to remove windows 7 from my notebook and have openSUSE as the only OS running on it. Can anybody help me with removing windows 7 and leaving openSUSE on it? I was also hopeing that i’ll be able to use the disk space with opensuse that my windows 7 is currently useing. Please Help i cant find anything to help me and i have been looking all morninggggg! :frowning:

If it were me, I would backup to external drive my important docs etc

then wipe the disc and install SUSE. otherwise it’s just messy

Since you are new… I would probably recommend you to reinstall openSUSE and on the installer tell it to use all disk space. That’s the easier way if you are not comfortable to operate with fdisk. Or maybe check out for gparted (I don’t use KDE, so I’m not really sure which application for KDE provides the same functionality of gparted, but you can use gparted on KDE also, you just require some GNOME packages installed).

okay so durring the instal for 11.3 there is a use all disk space option? and it will format the complete hard drive removing everything inlcuding windows? If so that would be unreal. Im checking gparted now.

This is from 11.2 but it’s the same in 11.3
http://lh5.ggpht.com/_hOiUsWwC6VQ/SxinNEWIqDI/AAAAAAAAAB8/KXyAg9Oukf4/s640/pic9-custom%20partitioons.png

This is from a Virtual Box install, so ignore the small size of the disc.
So option 1 will use the entire HD and SUSE will use it’s default partitioning, which is fine if you plan to run just SUSE

so choose the first option, not the custom one thats selected in the photo in that link right?

Yes, if you want to let SUSE use all the disc automatically