reinstall xp after 11.1

Hello - I am pretty new to linux. I would like to try to reinstall a barebones xp on a compac laptop as a dual boot with 11.1. I repartitioned using gparted so I now have 20 Gb free. Here (I hope) is the output of fdisk -lu http://www.imagebam.com/image/e9245a72098467

Can I do this? I spent a lot of time setting up opensuse and don’t want to lose the settings, etc. Should I repartition with the 20G space “in front” of the linux partitions? Can I back up the linux settings so I can reinstall them if I lose everything? Is there a sort of windows emulator (wine?) that will run programs that won’t run on opensuse, like netflix, tax prep software, etc? Too many questions I know but I would like a fairly simple foolproof fix if possible.

Thanks - d

If you do not plan on running cutting edge Windows games why not install Windows in a Virtual machine like Sun’s VirtualBox. That way you can have Linux a Windows running at the same time.

Where is the 20Gb free? I can’t spot it.

I don’t know where it is but I have a larger problem now: I tried to install the Virtual Box. It didn’t work so I went back and clicked on the debug function as well. Now I can’t boot. Here is the screenshot http://www.imagebam.com/image/b77e6472274951 I have tried the repair function from the install disk, load from disk, failsafe from hd and disk, and clicking Y and n from the endpoint. Suggestions greatly appreciated. - d

The partitioning you ended with after Gparted looks really weird to me. Looks like you have only one primary partition encompassing all cylinders. And inside that you have the linux partitions and some free space at the end.

When you change the partition table you must also edit Suse’s file system table (fstab) and Grub’s bootlist (menu.lst) or Suse will get lost. And it seems that sadly Suse has got lost.

Finally, windows xp will not boot from a “logical” partition in the extended partition (the spare space at the end).