Refugee from CentOS

Hi all,

As some of you may know, Red Hat have just killed off the traditional form of CentOS. I’m sure I’ll not be the last one exploring alternative options! My background is sysadmin/system programming, right back to VAX/VMS, then Alphas, then onto UNIX with SGI kit, then to SuSE, then to Red Hat and finally to CentOS. I’m now retired due to a combination of redundancy and ill health.

For many years I ran my home machine on OpenSuSE and similar, but for the last 10 years have been using CentOS to mirror the work machines. My home machine is both my desktop, and a server for the family providing DNS, DHCP, Samba, NFS, OwnCloud, DokuWiki and virtual machines through KVM. For some time now I’ve had a Tumbleweed VM running as a test bed, but I’ve just converted it to Leap to see if Leap will provide a replacement for the host OS. The first problem I’ve found is that there seems to be no support for cockpit which I use to keep track of the nearly a dozen VMs I use from time to time. So, time for a few questions:

1. I’ve seen talk about Leap and Jump. Is SuSE Leap going to remain available as a stable server quality OS?
  2. Is there a list anywhere of acceptable repositories (similar to EPEL on REHL)?
  3. If cockpit is not available, what is its replacement?

Thanks, that’ll do for the moment.

Welcome aboard. I’ve been expecting some CentOS people might try openSUSE.

Hi and Welcome to the Forum :slight_smile:
Well we have the openSUSE Build Service openSUSE Build Service, then the search engine openSUSE Software

I see cockpit is built by a few Community users here for Leap: openSUSE Software

Generally the development repositories (AKA Experimental) feed to Tumbleweed, but alot do build for the other releases, users tend to add these repositories and install their desired applications.

For home user repositories, YMMV :wink: