Recursive Find file & Delete

I have my multimedia master files on separate drive mounted at /data with link to my home directory ~/multimedia.
The multimedia is in the usual Music, Photos & Videos directories and below that many subdirectories.
As part of rebuilding my system it was necessary to rebuild my master files by copying all my multimedia back from a Qnap NAS box. I had forgotten this puts a hidden file in each subdirectory named .@__thumb. In consequence these files have appeared in my master files and I must delete them.

I intend to use a command along the lines of:-

find . -maxdepth 1 -type f -name '.@__thumb' -delete

I have tried using this from my home multimedia directory but it does not work. Is this because the directory is linked? Also I have no idea how many levels to use. If I do not use maxdepth, how do I go into subdirectories recursively please?

I am searching man pages and google but am scared of trashing the whole lot. Grateful for some help please if anybody has a moment.

It may not be very important here, but you should always tell which version of openSUSE you use.

The first arghument is the starting point, You use . , which means the current working directory. As you do not show what your working directory is, we can not comment on the correctness of this.

You say “but it does not work”. This is a useless remark. find does what you ask it to do, thus it works. It may not be what you expect it to do. While in this case we might have an idea about what you thought that would happen and you apperently mean that something else happened, that is not enough to tell exactly what happens and/or what not.

In any case, when you want to check (without destryoing anything) what files are found by find, just let find print that list before you add any -delete (or other destructive actions).

find . -maxdepth 1 -type f -name '.@__thumb'

will show you if, and when yes, how many, of files are to be going deleted.